Confidence

To me there is nothing more heartbreaking than meeting a truly extraordinary person, who excels in everything they do, yet does not realise their own worth. Confidence is something so many people lack, and it is so saddening to see. I have fallen victim to this myself and I feel that a lack of confidence truly affects every aspect of your being. If you are working towards a goal yet do not believe in your ability to reach it; then you have unintentionally given yourself extra hurdles to overcome in the process.

Confidence is not something easily gained, but it is something that is so important to work on. Simple things like creating a list of things you know you are good at, or things you like about yourself can go a long way in helping you become a happier, more confident person. Seeing your own worth is essential, after all we are only given one chance at this life and to make the most of it you must believe in your ability to achieve greatness.

I often find that it is the nicest of people, who aren’t very nice to themselves. Of course we are all more aware of our own flaws, after all they are ours. Yet that does not mean we must use those flaws to create the opinion we have of ourselves, it is important to consider that when compared to our strengths; our flaws are minuscule.

Now it is not easy to change the way you see yourself and I am very aware of that. I just want to highlight that there are small things to do that will help begin the process of being a more confident person. Also if you think someone is brilliant, tell them! What could seem like a meaningless gesture to you, could be exactly the push someone needs to start seeing themselves the same way everyone else does!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Confidence

  1. Elm says:

    Thank you for writing this šŸ™‚ You’re exactly right about the seemingly meaningless gestures: my friend once told me that I was fantastic and it meant so much.

    Like

Leave a comment